Data Privacy Statement Imprint Contact Deutsch   

Press releases

12. Mai 2021

Since 2013, the Foundation grants every two years the Robert Koch Award for Hospital Hygiene and Infection Prevention for scientific work and practical measures in the field of hospital hygiene and infection prevention. The award, which carries a prize of 50,000 euros, is financially endowed by B. Braun Melsungen AG and BARMER. “Given the current situation we are all in, the price is of high relevance and we hope to receive many applications” says Professor Wolfgang Plischke.

Please find more details for nominating here.

17. November 2020

Berlin – Last Saturday the Robert Koch Foundation awarded the 2020 Robert-Koch-Prize, with an endowment of 120,000 euros, to Professor Shimon Sakaguchi, Head of Immunology Frontier Research Center (IFReC) at University Osaka (Japan).

Professor Thomas F. Meyer, senior professor at Christian-Albrechts-University Kiel (CAU), received the Robert-Koch-Medal in Gold for his lifetime achievement.

Both prizes were handed over by Professor Plischke and Professor Radbruch during a virtual honorary conference. The official festive ceremony at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities is postponed to next year.

This year’s Robert-Koch-Prize honours Sakaguchi’s ground-breaking work on regulatroy T-cells.

Professor Thomas F. Meyer received the Robert-Koch-Medal in Gold in particular for his achievemetns in the field of molecular infection biology.

Post-doctoral awards for young scientist

Also presented at the virtual ceremony were the Post-doctoral Awards for outstanding work by young scientists, which are each endowed with prize money of 5,000 euros. The candidates were nominated by the German Societies for Hygiene and Microbiology, Immunology and Virology.

The Post-doctoral Award for Immunology went to Prof. Dr. Petra Bacher, Institute of Clinical Molecular Biology & Institute of Immunology of Christian-Albrechts-University Kiel, in regognition for her work of regulating human immunanswers.

The Post-doctoral Award for Virology went to Prof. Dr. Stephanie Pfaender, Dept. f. Molecular and Medicinal Virology, Ruhr-University of Bochum, in recognition of her work on biology of corona viruses.

Dr. med. Michael Sigal, Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin, received the Post-doctoral Award for Microbiology in recognition for his work on understanding of gastrointestinal infections.

Photos from the award ceremony may be downloaded for editorial use at:
Kindly observe the copyright.

About the Robert Koch Foundation

The Robert Koch Foundation is a non-profit foundation dedicated to the promotion of medical progress. It was founded in 1907 and is based in Berlin. The Foundation promotes basic scientific research in the field of infectious diseases, as well as exemplary projects that address medical and hygienic issues.

The Foundation confers a number of distinguished scientific awards each year: the Robert Koch Award – one of Germany’s most distinguished scientific awards, the Robert Koch Gold Medal, three awards for young scientists and, since 2013, the Hospital Hygiene and Infection Prevention Award.

Robert Koch (1843 – 1910), after whom the award is named, was the founder of modern-day bacteriology, for which he was awarded the 1905 Nobel Prize for Medicine and Physiology. From 1891 until his retirement in 1904, Koch was Head of the Institute for Infectious Diseases in Berlin.

Sabine Timmermann, Tel: +49 (0)214 30-70 28 5, E-Mail:


Press release (PDF)