Robert Koch Award 2014

November 14, 2014

Robert Koch Award 2014 goes to Jean-Laurent Casanova und Alain Fischer |
Hermann Bujard receives the Robert Koch Gold Medal for his life’s work

Berlin – The Robert Koch Foundation today jointly awarded the Robert Koch Award 2014 with prize money of 100.000 euros to Professors >> Jean-Laurent Casanova from Rockefeller University / Howard Hughes Medical Institute, New York, USA, and >> Alain Fischer from the Collège de France and Imagine Institute, Hôpital Necker-Enfants-Malades, Paris, France. Emeritus Professor >> Hermann Bujard from the Centre for Molecular Biology at Heidelberg University was awarded the Robert Koch Gold Medal for his life’s work. The awards were presented by Annette Widmann-Mauz, state secretary of the Federal Minister of Health, on November 14, 2014 at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities.
The two scientists Casanova and Fischer are being honored for their groundbreaking work on understanding host genes and their products in infectious diseases. Bujard was honored for commitment and achievements in malaria infection research and the development of a malaria vaccine.

Annette Widmann-Mauz highlighted the work of the award winners, who are leading the fight against infectious diseases in the service of science. “How important this fight is and how big the challenges are in providing promising treatment methods is demonstrated especially in times of Ebola. This is why research in this field remains a paramount need.”

Postdoctoral awards for young scientists

Also presented at the ceremony were the Robert Koch Foundation Postdoctoral Awards for outstanding work by young scientists, which come with prize money of 5,000 euros each. The German Societies for Hygiene and Microbiology, Immunology and Virology are each entitled to nominate suitable candidates.

Dr. rer. nat. >> Tim Lämmermann, Bethesda, USA, received the immunology award for his research into the analysis of the migration of immune cells. Dr. >> Benedikt B. Kaufer, Berlin, received the Microbiology Award in recognition of his studies on the analysis of virus-associated tumors. The post-doctoral award for virology went to Dr. >> Kai Papenfort, Princeton, USA, for his research on the role of regulatory RNA molecules in pathogens.